Bangkok: Khanom Jeen (ขนมจีน) & Khao Soi (ข้าวซอย) @ Soi Phiphat

Ask me one of my favorite simple food to eat in Thailand and it would be Khanom Jeen (ขนมจีน). Basically this is a rounded rice noodle (it is like a thinner version of the laksa rice noodle) topped with various Thai curry of your choosing. It is usually eaten with raw vegetables like basil, bean sprouts and cabbages. What makes it nice is the texture of noodles and the different types of curry.

Khao Soi (ข้าวซอย) is a Chiang Mai dish served with crispy noodles in curry soup.

Along Silom Road at Soi Phiphat, there is a khanom jeen and khao soi soup, which is very popular during lunch time. Its a small shop so you should be there around 11 am to 11:30 am if you don’t want to squeeze or wait. I cannot figure out what the name is and neither is it display outside.  To get a better idea where it is, it is opposite Silom Serene Hotel.

This is what the shop front looks like, as if you can recognize it!

When I stepped in, the waitress wanted me to write my orders on a piece of paper. I plainly said that I could not write the order and after some struggle trying to make orders, she gave me the menu. So the shop have a non-Thai friendly menu!  Basically, there are 3 types of dishes. Khanom Jeen with Nam Ngeow (fish broth with minced meat, I think), Nam Ya (fish curry) and Khao Soi with chicken, pork or beef. You can also order other types of noodles if you want, but Khao Soi and Kanom Jeen is probably the most popular stuff there.

The dishes comes in normal and special. Normal is really meant for squirrels, really small portion. So for a standard meal most people will order special. However, if you want to sample all 3 dishes, you could get away with ordering normal for all 3.

First, I ordered the Khanom Jeen with Nam Ya. This is a sweet thai curry with mince fish. The curry is unbelievably delicious and the rice noodle have a good bite and is smooth. The combination is really heavenly.

Next I order a normal portion of Khao Soi with chicken. It comes with thin yellow egg noodles topped with crispy noodles.  The curry is slightly different from the Nam Ya, but it is also a sweet curry and also very fragrant and delicious!

You can tell that I love the dishes because I dried up both plates!

My standard for whether the food is good or not is whether I will want to go back to the same place for the same food again. This place is definitely one of those that I am already dying to go back again! When you are around Silom in the afternoon, go try it.

Leave a Reply

